Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6,571 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was in a hurry to pick up my son from school since I got out of work a little late. At about 1:00 this afternoon, I got caught doing 51 in a 40 about 1.5 minutes away from work in Vista (SD county). I saw the motorcycle cop parked between cars at the last second and slowed down, but it was too late. Dry roads and not much traffic around.

I haven't gotten a ticket since 1999, and I'm wondering how much I should expect to pay (I'm hoping it will be <$200). I guess I'll be waisting a Saturday at traffic school too.

Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
241 Posts
I was a cop for a little under three years. In Florida, a law enforcement officer would only pull someone if they were exceeding (9) miles over. 9 and under would have to have a minor traffic or vehicular infraction or PC. 11 over would have been a waste of time to me. I hope this guy wasn't too much of a jerk! Sometimes the judge or magistrate will throw these out...sometimes. Hang tough (on a possible Saturday) dude and let us know the outcome!

·
Registered
5,613 Posts
i am pretty sure it will be less then 200. i was doing 80 on a 65 and it was about 200 ish.

·
Registered
6,571 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Lex, I'm looking over that site now. So if I contest the ticket by mail and lose, will I still be able to attend traffic school (I haven't gotten that far yet)? So if I contest and lose, all I have to do is pay what I would have had to pay anyway...or do I have to pay more?

$187 + a Saturday isn't too bad.

Thank you everyone for responding. Oh, and the Vista sheriff wasn't a dick at all :jawDrop:

·
Registered
6,571 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Haha, yeah I read on some sites that you can log on/off as much as you want with no time limit. Was it the white or yellow curbs for the loading/unloading of passengers only :lol:

·
Registered
6,571 Posts
Discussion Starter #10