Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2001 lexus is300
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to the forums but the only thing I could find related to the Colorado Ar5 trans was "do not buy the tail housing and main shafts are different but everything in the middle is the same". I've had an Aisin Ar5 out of a 06 Colorado and I want to keep the gear ratio out of the Colorado and was hoping theoretically is it possible to swap out the tail housings and shafts? Is it compatible? And if so is there anyone who still manufactures those parts? I don't care how long it takes or how much money it's going to steal from me, I'm an experienced fabricator and technician just looking for anyone who knows anything about the ar5's internals and compatibility. If I can make this work I'mma cry.

·
Registered
936 Posts
Man so I haven’t done an Colorado AR5 into an IS300 swap, so full disclosure there. I’ve got the Solstice AR5 version. Anyway I have seen some solutions to using the truck transmission, and they may alleviate the need to change out the tail shaft. Check out this site. The guy used to post on the fb JZ groups, so it may be worth an email to see if he has any stock coming up.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Here is another offering:

I bought one of their shifters, with suitable pivot ratio, for my T56 magnum. The IS300 requires the gear lever to be ~2.5" further rearward, so I cut off the top of their lever stump (where it's flattened so you can bolt on your gear lever), and fabricated an extension to move it back the required 2.5", while keeping it as short (in height) as possible. My extension attaches to the "stump" via a 3/4" shaft collar welded to a piece of 1" wide, 1/4" thick flat-stock. I did have to make the hole in my transmission tunnel slightly bigger to accomodate the "tower" of the shifter base itself. I used a body saw to open it up the ~3/8" required and all was good.