Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5,294 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
So why did you quit football?
a lot of reasons.

(i was a red-shirt freshman wide receiver)

it wasn't fun anymore
i didn't enjoy being out there
our playing calling was horrible
my position coach looked down on me because i'm small and white
i dislocated my thumb towards the end of the season, the trainer said it was fine yet i still can't grip things very well and it hurts to catch passes now
i broke my collar bone my junior year in high school and its been bothering since about half way through the season (no problems before. now i get weird pains in it)

i felt like it wasn't worth it to put my body at risk if it wasnt somethign i loved doing anymore. during the season i was miserable and always stressed out because of the coaches, my parents, and mainly the pressure i put on myself. even though i didnt like it anymore i still worked hard and did the things i was supposed to.

yes i've been told that the freshman season is always the hardest, especially if you are red-shirted. but i was the guy that enjoyed going to practice, work outs, camps, and everything no matter how hard it was. i found ways to make it fun. it wasn't like that this year. i knew i wasnt going to play the first year (probably not at all) but i still wanted it to be fun. and it wasnt.

it's hard because i grew up around football and have been doing for as long as i can remember. it was in my family but i'm just burnt out on it and ready to start a new life.