Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,660 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:eek: I just read the very informative thread on pro's and con's of lowering. I was curious after doing some searching if people with coilovers specifically could give some provide some positive/negative feedback on their set up. I figured it would be a good idea to have a thread soley for coilovers. Info such as the amount of drop, type of coilover, ride quality, etc....... I am new to the workings of coilovers, so maybe some experts like Sacrifical or IS Dude could chime in with some newb friendly info. Thanks in advance for all contributions. :)

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
I just installed my Tein HAs yesturday and I love them, you can ajust the hight and how stiff they are, so if you are tred of that stiff feeling you set them to the softest setting and its back to stock feeling, or you can have it so that you feel every little imperfection on the road... the bad thing... I can't really think of any besides that if you go to low, you are gonna be scratching everywhere, but thats the beauty of coilovers, so you can raise it up anytime you want.

Just be care full when taking of the front springs, becarefull of the wires there don't stretch them!!.

·
Registered
12 Posts
when your dealing with suspension you definitely want a nice ride without it being too harsh. usually, you get what you pay for. with that being said its a wise choice to go with a nice coilover setup such as teins. do it right the first time around that way you wont have to do it all over again. luckily, for IS owners coilover setups dont cost as much as other cars because of the design of the shock. :)

mike

·
Registered
436 Posts
I installed my HA about 6 months ago with some Sportivo sways. The car handling was much more responsive. You do trade off some of the comfort. I have mine set at 12/8. As soon as the EDFC goes in I think it will be much more fun to adjust on the fly.

·
Registered
3,373 Posts