Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, hey fellas how is it going,,, I recently bought an IS300 with a bad motor. I was told that the engine sucked in water and hydro locked. The crank does not turn. More than likely a rod(s) got bent. My 2 options are to either get a complete replace motor, GTE likely, or attempt to fix the 69k miles GE motor thats in the car now. I know someone who has a good set of stock GTE pistions and rods for cheap. Will these turbo pistons and rods fit the current bore of the N/A block that I have now? Any input on this would be highly appreciated.

·
Registered
930 Posts
Take it apart and decide from there! If there is extensive damage to the block, crank etc then just trash it and start fresh with a new GTE. If its repairable then its your call... I have GE w/GTE pistons, rods, rings.

·
Premium Member
4,435 Posts
why rebuild a motor that was hydro locked? if it doesnt turn over by hand at all im sure a rod broke and smashed into the cylinder wall. i wouldnt chance it, i would just get a gte block and be done with it.

·
Registered
4,996 Posts
Newbie here, hey fellas how is it going,,, I recently bought an IS300 with a bad motor. I was told that the engine sucked in water and hydro locked. The crank does not turn. More than likely a rod(s) got bent. My 2 options are to either get a complete replace motor, GTE likely, or attempt to fix the 69k miles GE motor thats in the car now. I know someone who has a good set of stock GTE pistions and rods for cheap. Will these turbo pistons and rods fit the current bore of the N/A block that I have now? Any input on this would be highly appreciated.
Hydro locked? was the car flooded? Air intake is pretty high.

·
Registered
67 Posts
why rebuild a motor that was hydro locked? if it doesnt turn over by hand at all im sure a rod broke and smashed into the cylinder wall. i wouldnt chance it, i would just get a gte block and be done with it.