Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I've just created an account on this website meaning to talk about the first gen IS300. For over a year now (since April 2019) the looks and somewhat of the smooth and buttery performance had really caught my eye on these cars. I am currently 17 years old, and have my Junior License. For my upcoming senior year in high school, I need my own transportation from to school and back. My father who works as a mechanic I feel like is not willing to hear me out, on this car. We're not a fancy car family, my dad drives a 2004 Corolla, and my mom drives a 2010 Corolla. So I'd think at fist introducing the IS300 to my dad would be some what be responsible for him and me to put our money on it and purchase one. However, me being where I am located 50 miles north of NYC, all of these cars are so driven to death in NY I am thinking partly due to the way New Yorkers work a lot and beat on their cars. I searched these car listing, and of course most of them are listed to be bought in the city. Most of them have 150,000 miles plus, are modded, and have been in a lot of fender benders. Of course the shear amount of curb rash on the wheels does not help on first appearance for my dad to even look at. Is their any strong points I can tell my father? Or should I just back off and let him figure out what my first car should be. Thanks! I am willing to hear from numerous amount of people on the forum.

·
Mr. Roo
9,583 Posts