Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 04 IS and it's my first time driving with this type of tranny. So what's the best way to adjust the gas when I'm upshifting during spirited driving? For example, if I'm gunning it at redline and I wanna upshift, do I a) lift off the gas b) keep the same rpms or c) gun it harder if needed?

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
I just bought a 04 IS and it's my first time driving with this type of tranny. So what's the best way to adjust the gas when I'm upshifting during spirited driving? For example, if I'm gunning it at redline and I wanna upshift, do I a) lift off the gas b) keep the same rpms or c) gun it harder if needed?

you dont take your foot off the gas when youre shifting.

·
Registered
4,246 Posts
you dont take your foot off the gas when youre shifting.
Correct. Just drive it like your driving an auto except shift. Dont worry it wont dramatically increce RPM's and blow your engine.

·
Registered
118 Posts
ive also heard using the shifter to go L 2 3 could be faster.....anyone ever try this?

·
Premium Member
1,128 Posts
allowing the transmission shift by itself is the fastest way.

The E-shift is there for choosing your gear, better suited for say a road-course.

By 'gateshifting' or even using e-shift, you're just adding an extra step.

·
Registered
149 Posts
I just got my is....some driving experience, but dont know what to do with the e shift....is it supposed to start in 5 then work my way down when im going faster...or ??

·
Premium Member
16,050 Posts
leaving it in 5 means your car will shift itself until 5th. Bringing it down to 4 means it will only shift into 4th gear and stay in that gear until you click up and shift to 5th. Bringing it down to 3 means it will only shift until 3rd gear and so on and so forth..

·
Registered
1,372 Posts