Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the best air filter to buy that is just a drop in design. I'm not thinking about changing the whole air intake... I'm just hoping for a filter shaped like the stock one that would allow more air. It doesn't have to be re-useable.

I checked Fram's site for the Air Hog's... but they're not made for our cars. I see K&N has one... anybody have success with that? I'm a bit worried about the oil.

·
Premium Member
6,292 Posts
These are the 3 that I could think of right now. TRD & PLP drop in air filters, OEM is non reusable. What is there to worry about the oil, put the right amount and clean the excess oil off with a cloth. I've been using the PLP one for almost 4 yrs now, knock on wood no issues.

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
IMPRIMIS said:
why not search since people beat this to death?

TRD/PLP/AFE
Because if you don't know what exact thread you are looking for... a serach can produce hundreds of results that you then hafta sort through and often not find what you were looking for in the first place. It's much easier just to ask.

I searched... but most threads I looked at were for modified air intakes... not just a drop in filter.

·
Premium Member
27,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Gray Rider said:
These are the 3 that I could think of right now. TRD & PLP drop in air filters, OEM is non reusable. What is there to worry about the oil, put the right amount and clean the excess oil off with a cloth. I've been using the PLP one for almost 4 yrs now, know on wood no issues.
Hmm... do any of those filters require grease around the edges like the K&N one?

·
Registered
13,954 Posts
Crester said:
Because if you don't know what exact thread you are looking for... a serach can produce hundreds of results that you then hafta sort through often not find what you were looking for in the first place. It's much easier just to ask.