Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this stuff, so I really don't know where to begin. I'm pretty happy with the stock system, and I'm not looking to put a "system" in my car. I really would just like to enhance the bass performance by adding a subwoofer if that is possible. I don't want to change the tweeters or any of the other interior speakers, I just want to add a sub so it can hit the lows. I have stock head unit, amp, everything. Is it possible? or do I need to buy some other stuff, like an amp?

How easy is it to hook up, and what would be a good amp to drive the stock system + 10" woofer?

·
Useless
5,346 Posts
okwiater said:
I'm new at this stuff, so I really don't know where to begin. I'm pretty happy with the stock system, and I'm not looking to put a "system" in my car. I really would just like to enhance the bass performance by adding a subwoofer if that is possible. I don't want to change the tweeters or any of the other interior speakers, I just want to add a sub so it can hit the lows. I have stock head unit, amp, everything. Is it possible? or do I need to buy some other stuff, like an amp?

How easy is it to hook up, and what would be a good amp to drive the stock system + 10" woofer?
At min you need the following.

Sub(s)
Amp
LLC or hardwire option
Power, ground and other misc connection components.

·
Registered
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, thanks, but I'm still not sure where to start.

I bought an Infinity 1000 watt 10" sub, and that is all I have so far. Do I need an amp in addition to the factory amp, or instead of? What amp would you recommend for a completely stock audio system + 1000 watt woofer?

Considering I know very little about installing this stuff, would I be best off finding a car audio shop to do the install for me? And do I need some sort of box for the woofers, or should they go into the trunk floor or some sort of custom enclosure?