Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi..
im a noob bout this stuff
but is there much difference in performance between the is300 5 speed or the e shift???

·
Premium Member
1,875 Posts
the 5-sp is prob about .3-.6sec. faster depends on shifting

all in all the e-shift isnt that much slower than the manual

·
Registered
5,013 Posts
But manuals can't take as much power as Autos.

·
Registered
385 Posts
5-sp

0-60: 7.1 s
1/4 mile: 15.4 s

E-Shift

0-60: 7.5 s
1/4 mile: 15.7 s

Those seem to be the avg times from magazines, I know some owners are capable of lower times.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
What kind of performance difference are you asking about, absolute or perceived? I would not buy an IS300 with an automatic. The manual transmission model has a completely different feel to me. Is it quicker? A little, but I don't even care.

If you have to ask, just buy the automatic. But, only a test drive of both will let know you if one model has any clear advantages to you.

·
Registered
385 Posts
HoustonLex said:
not sure about the magazines...

15.2 1/4 mile for the manual, 15.9 1/4 mile for the autos is what I saw on the track
I don't think the difference is that big, at least not from my friend's uncle's 5-sp. Quicker off the line obviously, but not really anywhere else.

·
8,849 Posts
MPG performance of the manual will be better... much better. :lol:
Manual also gives more control, especially if the rear end starts to loose it.

·
Registered
15,540 Posts
JPis300 said:
HoustonLex said:
not sure about the magazines...

15.2 1/4 mile for the manual, 15.9 1/4 mile for the autos is what I saw on the track
I don't think the difference is that big, at least not from my friend's uncle's 5-sp. Quicker off the line obviously, but not really anywhere else.
Well, maybe with the same driver the diff wouldnt be that bad... but thats what happened that night... and this was with 4 different IS's, 2 stick, 2 auto....