Lexus IS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this product. Anyone have pics of there car before and after the product was applied to the front of the car? Does it dull out the finish or what? How does it look? Can you even tell it's there? If you can hook me up with some details on this one I'd appreciate it.

·
Registered
537 Posts
My web site has before and after shots of ScotchCal on my Spectra Blue IS300. I have no stone chips in my hood (1800 miles so far).

I've always been a big fan of ScotchCal. It is not completely invisible, but it is hard to see if you aren't looking for it.

Rob

------------------
2001 IS300
Spectra Blue Mica/Ivory
LS, LD, HH, SR, 17" wheels
2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
4.7L, QuadraDrive, UpCountry
Patriot Blue, Fully loaded

·
Registered
537 Posts
Bugs. The evening I got the ScotchCal applied I ended coming home after dark and got splattered pretty well. I took the pics the next day. Minnesota has a lot of bugs (I'm sure we're not alone).

Rob

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey Rob... did you get the bumper done as well, or just the hood? Looks like he did a killer job. I did my hood myself, but the bumper looks like a bi*ch to do.

t

·
Registered
537 Posts
Didn't do the bumper. Got the hood, fender tips and side corners, mirrors, and door pulls done. I passed on the bumper because I've not had problems with chips on plastic bumpers before. I had a '93 GrandAm with TONS of chips on the hood (no ScotchCal), but virtually no chips on the bumper. Same thing with several other vehicles I've had... not much happens to the bumpers because the plastic absorbs the impact. Now if the Lexus paint over the plastic isn't as durable, then I might be wrong, but I'll take that chance.

Rob

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
how much did it cost you to do all that work? This way i can get an idea? How long did it take?

·
Registered
113 Posts