Lexus IS Forum banner

2JZ - GE Internals swap

16K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  Kris OK 
#1 ·
What parts would I need to do a swap on my engine internals. I’m looking to go for around 400-500 hp and eventually go turbo. Is it worth rebuilding my engine or should I just buy a GTE. I’m new to cars so I don’t know much.

#2 ·
Well, you won't hit 400-500hp without the turbo, you'd have even less power with the GTE internals until you went turbo. But yes, GTE or aftermarket forged rods and pistons is a good place to start. If you're new to cars then it's time to do a lot of research before you even decide to buy parts of any sort.

#4 ·
I'd definitely start with pistons/rods, but at the same point the money you're going to be spending on those could be spent going with a gte engine. In fact you may actually save money that way since it'll come with gte internals and a turbo setup.

#5 ·
I did a full rebuild of my current GE block.

- GTE Head Gasket
- GTE Pistons
- GTE Rods
- Rod Bearings
- Main Bearings
- Thrust Washer
- GTE Oil Pump
- New Water Pump
- ARP Head Studs
- Freeze Plugs
- ID 1050x injectors
- AEM Fuel Pressure Regulator
- DW 400 Fuel pump
- Turbo manifold
- Borg Warner S366
- Vibrant Resonator 3"
- Xperformance Varex 3.5" Muffler
- Precision 46mm Wastegate
- GSC Valve seals
- BC retainer & Springs..

Yes!! No cams.

#6 ·
but at the same point the money you're going to be spending on those could be spent going with a gte engine.
This is what I'm thinking. If you have to tear into the engine and potentially get machine work done to swap in parts, you're probably better off just buying a good used GTE. The GE block can never be as good as the GTE block even if you swap in the guts. The GTE comes with a built in oil cooler and piston coolers. The GE doesn't.

#7 ·
been there done that......

just get a COMPLETE swap and call it a day.