Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just totaled my previous car, which was a lemon, and decided it’s time to buy a slightly more expensive vechicle to get me reliably through college while being sporty. I was going to buy a Honda accord V6EXL when my now new IS350 caught my eye.

I am a college student who can only work part time so I am hesitant to buy a 80$ a month warranty for parts and service (excluding timing belts and head lights and regular service)
My cars carfax shows that for the first two years of its life it was a loaner at a Lexus dealership where they maintained it well.
The next owner owned it for 10 years, servicing it every 6K miles with oil, tire rotations, with one minor scrape. They averaged 11k miles a year.
The most recent owner of two years put 13K miles a year on it with oil changes every 11K miles for around 3 years.

I need this car to last me at least 4 years, I drive around 16K a year and I like to drive fast. My warranty costs around 5.6K for 60K of coverage or 4 years, do y’all think it’s a worth investment or will the IS350 manage without it in most cases?

· Registered
'01 IS300
126 Posts
Although the car is reliable, I would suggest getting something a bit more cost effective with maintenance costs, and operating costs. A Genesis coupe (4cyl turbo) would probably be better along those lines.

· Registered
952 Posts
If you know how to fix things and know what to look for when something goes wrong, I wouldn't even bother with the warranty. If you are going to a mechanic about everything, then I would. It depends on your skill level and your knowledge to fix things.

· Registered
205 Posts
Although the car is reliable, I would suggest getting something a bit more cost effective with maintenance costs, and operating costs. A Genesis coupe (4cyl turbo) would probably be better along those lines.