Lexus IS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please, if this topic has already been covered elsewhere (and I bet it has), forgive my negligence. I searched google / the forums for an answer, but couldn't come up with anything.

Last weekend I bought a used 2001 IS300. It's in great shape, and I love everything about it. Definitely enjoy my daily commute to / from work a lot more, even though it takes about half the time that it used to:)

Engine seems to be in great shape, interior is still beautiful, and the body is still flawless (for the most part). However... Last night I ran into the gas station and left the car running while my girlfriend stayed inside. On my way out, I was displeased to see that thepassenger side headlight bulb was no longer working. I'm guessing that it burnt out, but I'm no expert. I do however know for a fact that both headlights were working properly earlier in the day.

I've searched around the net for replacement bulbs, and have found that there is (obviously) a wide variety available, ranging from $10 to as much as $600+. Seeing as though only one of my bulbs is out, I would like to replace it with the same type of bulb as the driver's side, which to my knowledge, is the same bulb that the car was originally built with.

Is anyone able to give me the part / model number for standard headlight bulbs for a 2001 IS300? Were they originally built with one standard type of bulb, or were they offered with a variety? Like I said, I'm new at this, and know virtually nothing about Lexus cars, let alone IS300's. I'm used to driving a '96 Jeep GC that required very little maintenance, so I've never really had to look into this type of thing.

Any help is appreciated. Over time, I plan on investing more time and money into my IS300, but as for now, this is the only issue I've dealt with.

·
Premium Member
11,575 Posts
Here's a listing of all the bulbs.
http://my.is/forums/f90/is300-bulbs-2004-a-402678/