newbie looking at buying an is200 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-17-2013, 03:44 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

newbie looking at buying an is200

Hi im new to the forum and possibly looking to buy a is200.
So where to start, im a technician for nissan so working on my car isnt a great issue however I dont really want an unreliable car I fix enough in the week.
I used to work at Toyota only for 12months but I did service a couple of sports model is and I must say they seemed nice well equipped cars although I was disappointed with the high fuel consumption especially when you dont get a huge power delivery in return.

Anyway im currently saving for a new car in the region of 4k and im looking at something like an Audi TT however looking at certain faults etc with the TT and the fact im not really looking at spending alot for the particular car wont get me a fantastic example.
So I looked at the is200 after seeing a local one forsale I soon realised they dont hold their value, I thought I would look into them as I could get a great example is200 for 1500 with all the tricks and toys (if not more ) than the TT not mentioning the lexus would be a more reliable car out of the two in my opinion?

The one I saw was a 2001 silver SE with 95k fsh etc he wanted 1250 talking to the guy over the phone I soon realised he hadnt had alot of interest so I told him id be looking to spend 850 he said he would be happy with that.
Now obviously i haven't looked at the car yet so it maybe apparent why he was so keen to drop 400 however I think they car a car that is not going to sell particularly quick in today climate.

I did ideally want a pre 2001 due to that falling before the emission based taxed although the 2001 I looked at was only 25 more for 6months so not the end of the world. Also I wanted a sport is it only cosmetically different?