Lexus IS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

D2 Racing RS Coilover Review:

31K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  Alexus_300 
#1 · (Edited)
Recently, I was offered an opportunity of sponsorship by D2 racing to test out their RS line of coilover and couldn’t resist the offer. Since this is my first time around with coilovers, I wasn’t so sure what to expect out of them besides the height adjustment and dampening ability from others who have had coilover before me. I will try my best to give a full evaluation of my experiences with these coilover.

Install: Installation took around 5 hours because the bolts on my suspension were really seized up from all the rust buildup that had accumulated over the years. On top of the coilover installation, new stainless steel brake lines were installed as well with a full brake fluid flush. ****Note that the installation could’ve taken less time but due to many beer breaks and some time chatting with other people that had walked by to share their stories with us.****

Spring Rate: It was very hard in the beginning for me to choose which spring rates to go with since I didn’t really know what to get. But thanks to a few member of this board and after a few PM was sent out to different suspension guru on this board, my decision was narrowed down to installing 13kg springs for the front and 9kg springs for the rear.

Height Adjustment: From the factory, I believe these coilovers can be adjusted from 1” -2.25” fronts and 1” - 2.5” rear. Since we did not have a tape measure around to measure the height of the lowered car after installation, a new invention tool called the “Das Meter” was fabricated by Das Garage to measure the perfect drop to my liking.