• 1 Post By Ek9B18
  • 1 Post By Posh469

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-23-2018, 09:44 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)

Is WOT bad for my engine?

Is it bad for my engine if I use wide open throttle? I was recently doing errands with my father and at one point I went on about 70-80% throttle so he told me to "not be so hard on my engine because [I]'ll blow it" is this really true? I have a 2001 IS300 with almost 120,000 miles on it and want to make sure I don't blow up my engine, even though it would be a great excuse to do a GTE swap.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-23-2018, 10:00 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

I am new to the JZ but my understanding from years of being a gearhead: If your engine is in fine working order floor it. If it has bad rings it will burn oil. If you hit the rev limiter it will limit your rev's (freaks you out the first time it happens). Push it to the redline and shift (or let it shift for you, my auto is300 shifts at redline just fine).

With that said... if you have a timing belt that is old it can stress it (that's bad when it goes... fatal. I'm assuming the 2JZ is interference vs non-interference, am I correct?).

Wide open on the throttle is also different than redlining... you can floor it and shift up through the gears and never hit the rev limiter.

Your Dad is probably freaked out because your his kid and your driving like a lunatic... kidding! ;-)
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-23-2018, 10:27 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseKnuckle View Post
I am new to the JZ but my understanding from years of being a gearhead: If your engine is in fine working order floor it. If it has bad rings it will burn oil. If you hit the rev limiter it will limit your rev's (freaks you out the first time it happens). Push it to the redline and shift (or let it shift for you, my auto is300 shifts at redline just fine).