Keep My 5 Speed/LSD High mileage Lexus IS300? - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-20-2017, 07:36 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Keep My 5 Speed/LSD High mileage Lexus IS300?

Hey guys, about a year ago i purchased my 5 speed Lexus IS300 at 309 000 km for 3500$ as my first car(in College). Knowing that the car needed some TLC i purchased it anyways, as i love IS300 and i wanted to start out in one. Car was a reliable daily driver during the summer.

Body Condition
As the summer went by, i worked on removing rust from the rocker panels, rear quarter panel (where the panel meets the rear fenders) and the roof.(I know it' ugly but it's my first time) I was able to successfully remove rust from the roof and one of my rear fenders. Unfortunately, the rust from the rocker panels seems to be rotting from the inside, hence it came back and it seems to require professional work from a body shop. Moreover, one of my rear rocker panel, seems to rust size of small pea that seems to come back, and overall car needs a respray since i have scratches and a few dings.

Drivetrain + Engine
Needless to say, even though the body condition of the car needed some work. The engine, transmission and the brakes are excellent. They performed very well, before storing the car for winter. However, due to the mileage of my car, i'm due for some heavy maintenance (90k maintenance), bodywork, new tires and i have to fix an exhaust leak.

Question/Thoughts