02-05 Is300 automatic trans swap to AR-5 trans..NEED HELP - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By lessthanjakejohn
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
02-05 Is300 automatic trans swap to AR-5 trans..NEED HELP

So I have all of my parts ready for my ar-5 swap into my 05 auto Lexus and I'm looking to do a CEL free set up as i would like to not run a standalone until I get the rest of my parts for my turbo build. I know the auto trans on these years provide the speed input through the gauge to the ecu and what not and im just curious if anyone has done this swap on an auto of this year without running a standalone to keep the engine running right and with also keeping the "accessories" such as cruise, traction control, etc.
Jhalbert107 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:27 PM
Extremist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
           
Quote:
im just curious if anyone has done this swap on an auto of this year without running a standalone to keep the engine running right and with also keeping the "accessories" such as cruise, traction control, etc.
You're going to have CEL's and the engine won't make full power. Basically what you're doing is like what I did with my V8 and AR-5.

If I was in your shoes, I'd find a manual IS300 ECU and use it instead of the auto-ECU. Then making it cel free is just a matter of getting the wiring right.
Ek9B18 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:28 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
you need a manual ecm and a few wire repins.

the manual and ar5 swap thread on here has all the answers
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Well I tried looking on the other posts, I've probably looked at 30 or 40 of them related to my situation and the majority of them are related to the 01 is300...which uses the wheel speed sensors for the cluster. That's basically my main concern. I know swapping the ecu for a manual one and repinning the harness (or swapping in a manual harness) will free the other codes...but with the 02 through 05 set up you'll run into more dtcs...around 10 in pretty sure because of the speed sensor used in the tranny...right? Since that sensor is used for so many other inputs? I guess ill have to tinker and look around on some more forums and maybe piece something together.
Jhalbert107 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
when you swap the ecu to an 02+ it drops it down to 1 code. P0500. when you run a wire from the ecm to the combo meter it gets rid of that.
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 05:59 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
I can send you the wire and pins too. I bought enough for 50 cars.
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I saw that post but isn't that only for a stock w55 swap? Does swapping the 02 plus manual ecu use wheel speed sensor data for the gauge speedometer?
Jhalbert107 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
yeah.
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
           
those instructions work for any manual transmission.

I can walk you through the whole thing. i just finished the swap on an 02.
Matt K likes this.
lessthanjakejohn is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
That would be awesome if i could get those pins..i would GREATLY appreciate that.
Jhalbert107 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2018, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Oh my, that CLEARS so much for me. Thank you so so so much. You have made my night. I appreciate your help as well.
Jhalbert107 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > General Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aristo 2jzGTE vvti paired with is300 auto trans? tngazazel Go Faster 4 02-25-2017 02:10 PM
Jzx110 is300 1jzvvti swap Jzxdon Go Faster 2 09-08-2016 11:15 AM
Need a shop in NYC to do clean straight Aristo swap to my 03 IS300 L.1.3 Go Faster 4 05-04-2016 06:07 PM
R155 Trans swap sexilex Go Faster 21 12-19-2015 06:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome