IS300 How To Install o2 Simulator - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-06-2007, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
Extremist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newcastle and Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
IS300 How To Install o2 Simulator

Thanks to my.is member kramps for this tutorial. As with all ECU related electronics, remember to solder rather than use standard electrical connectors, this provides a better connection for voltage based sensors as well as resistance to vibrating loose over time.

NOTE: You need to keep the original o2 sensor in the car still, you can either leave them threaded into their bosses or just tuck them away. This tutorial will disable their actual reading when you substitute the sim for the sensor. However, you still need the heater signal from the o2 sensor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kramps View Post
We used the universal dual o2sim from o2simulator.com. From all the threads i read a lot of people are confused on how to install it. So i took some pictures for a visual. Before you install make sure you take off the negative connection on the battery to prevent a short circuit

Use this as a guide
2001 pinouts


2002+ pin outs

1) Ground: splice the black ground wire from the o2 simulator into the ground wire in the ECU harness.
2) Power: splice the red +12v power wire from the o2 simulator into the power wire in the ECU harness.
3) Signal Wires: cut the white wires in the ECU harness matching the signal wires in the wiring diagram. Tape off the end that goes to the sensor. Attach the white signal wires from the o2 simulator to the two white wires that terminate in the ECU.


I recommend
-that you solder the connections than use the butt connectors because mine got loose overtime.
-using extra wire just incase you cut a wire to loose







If you did it right a green light should blink when the car is on "on"
Pretty simple when you think about it.
Thanks!

Have a question? Try the my.is FAQ or, if you can't find an answer there, search before posting your question (hopefully in the correct forum).

2002 IS300 5mt. MSM stock for now
Cobra Project:
FFR MKIII '65 Cobra Replicar - 427 cid V-8 (thats 7.0 liters) engine 525hp/520lb-ft torque at the flywheel (and this is in a 2200 pound car) Painted Lexus Spectra Blue Mica with GM Arctic White stripes -- now street legal

Last edited by longnights; 12-13-2009 at 01:33 AM.
longnights is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-11-2010, 07:56 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: El Paso,Tx
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Garage
Hey, which O2 simulator is a good match for the 2002 IS 300?... and should I run dual or single?... Those are some things that I'm confused about... Also, could you point me to the direction where I can get a decent Sim?... Thanks..
Baker901 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 11:42 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego/Davis, CA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
I believe this is the o2 simulator...please correct me if I'm wrong.

o2 simulator for Lexus 2004+ [lexus-o2sim] - $40.00 : O2 Simulator, E-commerce

Erin 2004 MSM IS300 MT LSD
~BC Racing Coils 14k/12k, HKS Carbon Ti, Wald Lip & Skirts, Joe-Z Intake, Manaray VR5 18x8.5
TofuMaster is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 10:37 PM
Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northridge Toyota- NTP
Posts: 2,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Any confirmation?

CP-BC-Carillo-HKS-GReddy-Apex'i-TRD-JIC-CUSCO-L-Tuned-Volk-AIT-Titan-Powerdyne

Rollin with SoCals Finest OG Low 'N Slow Crew 818
02IS-GTE is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-20-2010, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
Extremist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newcastle and Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
that one is 04+, if you have a 2001-2003 it is a universal sim such as this: Universal o2 simulator dual output [unv-o2sim2] - $40.00 : O2 Simulator, E-commerce

Have a question? Try the my.is FAQ or, if you can't find an answer there, search before posting your question (hopefully in the correct forum).

2002 IS300 5mt. MSM stock for now
Cobra Project:
FFR MKIII '65 Cobra Replicar - 427 cid V-8 (thats 7.0 liters) engine 525hp/520lb-ft torque at the flywheel (and this is in a 2200 pound car) Painted Lexus Spectra Blue Mica with GM Arctic White stripes -- now street legal
longnights is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:17 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Thanks for the directions. I soldered all my connections. It was really easy.
04blackis300 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-13-2010, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tremonton, Utah
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
Main O2

What would you use for the main O2 sensor, since where I live there is no emissions testing? Or is it even plausible and is it still working for you?
mochetty is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-15-2010, 09:12 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Ya smart one. Pull the main O2 sensors too?!?
I think you need to do some more reading up on vehicles before you start modding. Main O2 sensors are for the ECU to help determine the correct air/fuel ratio. Pull them and let me know how much faster your car goes?!?
Don't waste our time!
mr2_mike is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2011, 01:46 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Garage
Just to make sure.

I "tap" the power and ground wire, and "cut" the o2 signal wire, correct?
Also I have an '03, so I should use the universal dual output, correct?

Thank you.

TonyN

*2003 IS300 (204)Black Metallic Sport Design 5spd
Hotchkis Drop / Prospeed Intake / Prospeed N1 Cat Back Exhaust / Shorty Carbon Fiber Antenna / PHR Short Shifter / Smoked Front Side Marker / DVD-Bluetooth Headunit

*94 Supra TT
Precision 63 / Auto 3.8k Stall / Methanol Injection / Volk SF Challenge / Recaro Speed / Seibon / Eibach / KYB / Greddy / Bomex / C-West / RMM / Tial /
TonyN is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 01:07 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dousman, WI
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
This is the o2 sim I bought:

Universal o2 simulator dual output [unv-o2sim2] - $40.00 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce

I have everything hooked up correctly, verified plenty of times. Are these known not to blink? Is mine faulty? Because its not blinking. Car has been running for awhile. No cel has came on, even know it can take awhile to appear. Any info would be appreciated.

2002 IS300 - Crystal White
Manzo Axle-back | JoeZ Intake pipe & modded stock box | Dezod Motorsports Red Headers | Unorthodox Racing Adjustable Exhaust Cam Gear | Toyomoto VB upgrade | B&M Supercooler | Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS | TunedParts Rigid bars | TunedParts Rear Strut Bar | StopTech Front slotted rotors | Stoptech Front stainless brake lines | Hawk HPS front pads| Altezza Grill | Eibach F/R Sway bars | BC Racing BR Coilovers 12k/10k | Enkei Kojin 18x8.5/245/35 tires
DSMDuDE is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-24-2013, 06:30 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
           
Garage
if i have something already spliced onto the power wire in the ecu can i add the o2 sim onto the same power wire?
az989 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-02-2014, 08:48 AM
Follower
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
           
If I will be using an e-manage ultamite with PNP harness, how do I integrate or splice this o2 sensor delete?

thanks
lazyIS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Site News & FAQs > FAQ > Maintenance and Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
o2 simulator jvillagran2000 Go Fast Stuff 5 07-22-2005 06:48 PM
Toyomoto O2 Simulator Install Instructions AltezzaBob Go Faster 0 06-27-2004 11:37 PM
How to install 02 simulator? bgwillyIS300 Go Fast Stuff 3 05-13-2004 05:06 PM
O2 Simulator Install - Please Help! Trovador Go Fast Stuff 7 02-16-2003 12:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome