LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-22-2012, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Lurker

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Install Guide Solenoid C P0763

Hey guys,

I bought my first Lexus a few months ago and I love it but I am a student and found a IS300 for cheaper than usual, but with cheap comes problems...

One of the few problems I had was code P0763 Shift Solenoid C. I couldn't shift into 3rd gear in Auto or M Mode.

I searched and searched and couldn't find any information except an Australian guy working on his GS in his driveway.

So I decided to do it myself,

Firstly disconnect the battery negative terminal.

The jack her up and drain the tranny fluid.

I took off the mount for the exhaust pipe right in front of the tranny valve cover because it was kinda in the way and I didnt want any obstructions.

Then using a 10mm socket with spacer take off the 19 bolts holding the valve cover on.

I used a stanley knife to then cut the gasket maker that was still holding the valve cover firmly in place once all the bolts were out. I used a flat head screwdriver to help wedge it in between the seal so that you can pry the valve cover off. Dont be afraid if you bend the cover at all, you can bend it back into shape once it's off.

Ok be careful taking the cover off because there will still be tranny fluid in the tray and you dont want that all over you or your floor. Keep a roll of shop towel with you because you're going to get your fingers wet. I layed the valve cover straight on the ground below the solenoids to catch all the drips, it dripped for ages!

Ok so looking at the solenoids, the ones on the left hand side of the tranny running from the front to the back. You'll count 1 2 then the 3rd is indented a little and then 2 more. You'll notice the last 2 look different to the previous 3.

The first Solenoid AFTER the indented one is the infamous Solenoid C.