User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-16-2011, 03:04 AM Thread Starter
Frequenter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)

Painting Lip kit

Hey myis. A little about myself. I've been painting for a couple of years and I've also played with plenty of painting methods and paint types. I am no where near a professional painter so don't get the wrong idea. I just like doing things myself. I've painted 2 cars and a lot of body repairs like lips, bumpers and side skirts in the past. Most of the projects were rattle cans, paint guns (with a compressor and real automotive 2k primer and urethane paint), but I am known for my home depot $50 roll on paint job in the Honda community. For the IS300 I bought a front lip (RMM), TRD reps sides and Rear lip and I got quoted $300-$800 to paint them all at my local body shop. I didn't feel the need to pay that much just to paint my sides, F&R lip. So I thought i would rattle can this job. Disclaimer if you want a perfect clean high gloss finish do not do this. Number 1 rule, never rattle can a paint job if it can be avoided. It's never 100% but in this case I'm painting things that are small and eventually going to get torn up from rock chips and what not. If I was painting my doors, fenders or any major body work then I would pay the extra to get a real paint job. This is for people who are on a tight budget and are either doing small touch ups or painting a spoiler or lip, nothing major. Just making sure that everyone know what this diy is intended for. Anything that you do to your car isn't my responsibility for damages and what not. So on to the DIY.

Materials:
Sandpaper: 320, 600, 1000, 1500 or 2000
Painter tape blue
Simple Green
Dishwasher soap
Microfibers towels
Primer
Sealer
Paint was purchase at automotivetouchup.com
MSM Base Paint X2 (buy 3 I ran low near the end)
Clear Coat X1 (buy 4 I Screwed up here with the CC)
tack cloth
painter mask