User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2010, 05:06 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Noob questions about IS350 maintenance

Hello ppl,
first of all, id say i really like this forum as i can find lots of useful information here.. this is my first time here, but i have had my 09 is350 for a year now..

i live in calgary, alberta, so im about to do the oil change at 25,000 km. so i called in lexus of calgary and they told me the maintenance package is about $300 which is obviously a ripoff. i know they usually just do oil change and inspect lots of other things, so i told them i only wanted an oil change with synthetic and its about $150. and i will probably change the air cabin filter myself sometimes.

so here is my situation. im just throwing this out there to see how you guys usually handle your oil change and maintenance, like what else do you usually do except engine oil and air filter. if possible, is there any referred place in calgary that i could go to, maybe to save a few bucks? lol

thank you very much people.

cheers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-13-2010, 07:13 PM
Extremist

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Please forgive that this is all in miles not km-

What your car actually needs for scheduled service-

Every 5k-
Oil change**see below notes on oil changes

Every 15k-
Check air and cabin filters (do yourself, takes 5 minutes)

Every 30k-
Change air and cabin filters (do this yourself, takes 5 minutes)
Change brake fluid

Every 60k-
Change spark plugs

Every 100k-
Change coolant

That is IT.

Anything else is BS your dealer is trying to push on you that the people who built the car don't think you need.

Don't EVERY ask for the "X miles" service since as you found out they'll double the price (or more) and not do anything additional.

My local dealer gets $50 for an oil change, non-synthetic. Speaking of oil changes though-

The manual says every 5k.