User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-27-2011, 10:40 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

2006 Lexus IS350 Possible Piston Slap

Hello Everyone;

I know a bit about engines but I'm no mechanic so I'm not going to make an assumption that my engine has piston slap. I have been reading everywhere and I have come to the conclusion that the Lexus IS350 is a loose motor and has piston slap. My car has a very faint knocking noise when cold and goes away once the car is running at proper temp. I have already had the recall done for the cam gears so I know its not that. I have brought it to the dealership and they have said that nothing is wrong with my motor. I am just looking to get a definite answer one way or the other. I asked the dealer today if its common to have piston slap on these motors and they said no. Has anyone else experience piston slap and has anyone got the dealer to replace the motor due to this condition. I was thinking about using Redline Oil and hopefully that will help. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-01-2011, 11:31 PM Thread Starter

Anyone??
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-02-2011, 09:21 AM
Extremist

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimped_up View Post
Anyone??
In the ~4 years I've been reading the 2IS forums I've not read of any genuine cases of piston slap, so it's not a design issue with the engine in general (not to say YOUR specific one might not have a real problem)

The cam gear issue is more a grind noise for maybe 10-30 seconds on start up (though some folks HAVE reported it coming back after being fixed).