Noise from Diff. please help!!! - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 07:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Noise from Diff. please help!!!

Hello, i am a noob to the car community and car forums in general. i bought a rebuilt title IS300, with 74k miles wanting a reasonable rear wheel drive car.

has a vibration when above 40mph so took it to a local pepboys for a steering and wheel diagnosis and they said the wheels are bent which i kinda expected. but the technician added there is a noise from rear diff. i am not sure what to make off of it and he refused to give me more info.

This is a new car to me so i cant tell apart weird noises from the normal ones.

Any suggestions on diagnosis and/or repair will be greatly appreciated.

also i live in central NJ. any suggestions for reasonable shops for repair would be amazing.

ps:i apologize for any my gramatical errors, english is not my first language.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 03:42 AM
Frequenter

Quoted: 36 Post(s)

Garage
Where the damage was located on your car?? Because Usualy Orignal Diffs are really sturdy especially the Torsen, IS's had a Thumping noise coming from the diff that is refered to the slack in the driveline, more noticeable on manual versions. It can also be the stupid parking brake assembly in your rear brake system. Mine was clunking last summer. And sadly it still present even if I've worked on the parking brake system during the winter.

2002 IS300 - Manual 5-speed LSD M85
Color: Cromax YR580M
TRD Carbon Fiber Shifter Ball
Custom Made Complete Cold Air Intake
Fidanza Exhaust Cam Gear
OBX Headers / Megan Racing Y-Pipe / Thrush Catback
Yonaka Spec II Coilovers / Cusco Strut Bar
SPC Rear Camber Kit
DBC Performance Black XDS Rotors / Carbon Brake Pads
Continental ProContact Tires
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 06:01 AM
Enthusiast