Is300 m/t random shut off in neutral - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 01:08 AM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Is300 m/t random shut off in neutral

So I 2 days ago I went to change my brake like because it was leaking and I had an oil catch can to put on also so I ended up doing both. Did the brake line added oil catch can and has the car running again I noticed if I go above 4K in third gear and just put it in neutral the car will just die this happened about 12 time after the catch can it’s the the car can it recover in rpms is drops down around 400-500 rpms and just dies. It starts up ever time I took of the catch can reset my ecu and it didn’t happen for a while then about 30-45 minutes in it starts recovering bad again and died. It only happens once after I disconnected ecu. Idk what can cause this I’m kind of confused and annoyed at this point just trying to make it run good again lol
Enix2jz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 02:56 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
           
Sounds like you have ether a lose connection or a vacuum leak.

Careful & Consistent
01 SolarYellow is online now  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01 SolarYellow View Post
Sounds like you have ether a lose connection or a vacuum leak.
Connection as a bad ground? I’ve been looking for a vacuum leak and haven’t seen one I’ll continue to look for vacuum leaks and maybe a bad ground as I did loosen a ground to get to the brake line. It hasn’t done it today I only drove about 15 minutes but I’ll continue to keep checking up on it. After I reset ecu it only died once so hopefully it can stay alive
Enix2jz is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Also thanks for the reply im going at this blind so it’s kind of annoying. always helps when people have some input! I could’ve have easily over looked something as I’ve done before.
Enix2jz is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
It sounds like a vacuum leak to me too. Does it happen continuously or is it more of an intermittent problem?
2002manualsportcross is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2002manualsportcross View Post
It sounds like a vacuum leak to me too. Does it happen continuously or is it more of an intermittent problem?
I’ve checked it out ima look a lot more maybe I disconnected something in the process of running my new brake line it runs along the fire wall so there a lot of tiny vacuum hoses there.
Enix2jz is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Still haven’t seen no vacuum leaks I was being told that it can be my tps? Can this cause this problem?
Enix2jz is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 06:30 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enix2jz View Post
Still havenít seen no vacuum leaks I was being told that it can be my tps? Can this cause this problem?
If you are just looking at the lines you may not see it. Try spraying carb cleaner on them and listen for rpm change or a sucking sound. I know this may be hard with it not running right. So you may need to have someone to help.

Careful & Consistent
01 SolarYellow is online now  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 08:05 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
           
TPS can cause a similar issue, especially if you disconnected the battery and made the ECU have to relearn the settings. Try checking the TPS setting while you are under there and see if it is within specification.

2001 Altezza Gita JCE10
Pnut00 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pnut00 View Post
TPS can cause a similar issue, especially if you disconnected the battery and made the ECU have to relearn the settings. Try checking the TPS setting while you are under there and see if it is within specification.
I did disconnect the batter when replacing line I also reset ecu
Enix2jz is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enix2jz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pnut00 View Post
TPS can cause a similar issue, especially if you disconnected the battery and made the ECU have to relearn the settings. Try checking the TPS setting while you are under there and see if it is within specification.
I did disconnect the batter when replacing line I also reset ecu
I check the tps yesterday 2 of them read 3.2 last one was around 5
Enix2jz is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 06:21 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
           
Pretty sure there are only 2, the TPS (throttle motor) and APS (accelerator cable side), what is the 3rd?

2001 Altezza Gita JCE10
Pnut00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Lexus IS > Basic Help & Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My love for IS300's jesuspuppy General Discussion 8 04-08-2019 03:54 PM
01 is300 misfire, throttle bogging, and random shutdowns reooke General Discussion 5 10-22-2018 01:35 PM
2018 IS300 RWD 2.0L 4-cylinder turbo crazyhorse New Member Introductions 0 05-02-2018 11:23 PM
Random popping/jerking when in gear or neutral Blowenos Basic Help & Repair 4 11-04-2017 09:17 PM
M/t is300 aristo swap questions aj08g Go Faster 3 09-03-2016 08:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome