help! DRL doesnt work with new bulbs - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:26 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
help! DRL doesnt work with new bulbs

got brand new nokya super yellow 9005 hb3 65watt lights today.. when installed the lights do not come on.. when brights are on only 1 lightens up ... installed the originals light back and they work perfect! is there something i have to bypass here? help me!
Tonyv9710 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 03:40 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
One of the two new bulbs is bad or the socket is not making good contact, especially if they worked before. Swap the new bulbs in the housing that works. Or test the bulb with a meter.

When the lights are in DRL mode, they are connected in series so if one was bad then neither will work.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 04:59 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
I'm pretty much convinced it is the bulb after reading your OP. Hopefully you should get a free replacement. I have the same bulbs but Artic White.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Ughh so if I got two new bulbs that work they are plug n play? I dont need a harness or anything? I tried the working " highbeam" bulb in the other housing ... And it lights up when turned on but not the other.. I'm convinced it's the bulb too..
Tonyv9710 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 06:16 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonyv9710 View Post
Ughh so if I got two new bulbs that work they are plug n play? I dont need a harness or anything? I tried the working " highbeam" bulb in the other housing ... And it lights up when turned on but not the other.. I'm convinced it's the bulb too..
That's the right bulb because i have the blue ones. Nothing else needed for them to work, just a simple swap. So have you put the bulb the doesn't light up at all in the headlight where the high beam works? If so and still doesn't light, definitely a bad bulb. If you don't have a meter, get two pieces of wire and put battery +/- to the terminals. You've pretty much narrowed it down yourself. Sorry to hear, hopefully you get a replacement promptly.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2012, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Yep switched the bulbs over the other works now on high beam and other doesn't . Def bad bulb
Tonyv9710 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Lexus IS > Basic Help & Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAR horn doesnt work DCARTER Basic Help & Repair 29 04-27-2017 04:43 AM
Why Doesnt Gallery Work? williamhoang Showroom 0 09-17-2010 10:27 PM
my DRL doesnt work??? is300tt General Discussion 13 11-18-2008 02:26 PM
biopod doesnt work JamesR913 MY.is Tech Issues & Bugs Report 0 10-07-2004 02:51 PM
key doesnt work in one area mikeeymikee General Discussion 2 01-21-2003 03:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome