Dome light, door locks and remote not working - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Burlington ON
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
Dome light, door locks and remote not working

Hi guys, I've got a 2001 IS300 base model (no roof or fogs and 16" wheels) Ever since I got the car the remote, door locks and dome light haven't worked. The locks will work when the car is running with the button on the door. I have been a mechanic for 16 years and specialise in the electronics but have no access to wiring diagrams for Lexus. I have checked ALL my fuses, even replaced my 7.5A dome light fuse and my 10A MPX-B. I have no power to the dome light connector on the light assm. I have tried reprograming my remote but since the locks dont work with the key out I cant begin the procedure. I believe I have an open wire somewhere because everyone else seems to have the 7.5 or 10A fuse blown. I currently have the battery disconnected trying to reset the computer. Any help would be appreciated.
Dan
baxterdan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 02:48 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxterdan View Post
Hi guys, I've got a 2001 IS300 base model (no roof or fogs and 16" wheels) Ever since I got the car the remote, door locks and dome light haven't worked. The locks will work when the car is running with the button on the door. I have been a mechanic for 16 years and specialise in the electronics but have no access to wiring diagrams for Lexus. I have checked ALL my fuses, even replaced my 7.5A dome light fuse and my 10A MPX-B. I have no power to the dome light connector on the light assm. I have tried reprograming my remote but since the locks dont work with the key out I cant begin the procedure. I believe I have an open wire somewhere because everyone else seems to have the 7.5 or 10A fuse blown. I currently have the battery disconnected trying to reset the computer. Any help would be appreciated.
Dan
The 7.5A Dome and 10A MPX-B fuses should always have battery power(+12 volts) to ground even when the car is off. But before the battery feeds those fuses, it goes through the 20A ECU-B1 fuse, which is located by the battery. I would double check inside that relay/fuse box before determining there is an open feed wire.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2011, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Burlington ON
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
WOW!!! jason you rock! Turns out someone had pulled that fuse (ECU_B1) and placed it in the "spare" location beside it! So as I was testing each fuse it passed my continuity test. Installed it in the correct location and everything came to life!! Thank-you so much, my friend who has Mitchel on demand was helping me over the phone but since he's not to good with the electronics we didn't get to far. As for the double post, I'm sorry, I'm still trying to figure out how to use the forum, Still don't know the difference between a post and a thread yet but I'm learning. Thanks again, that made my day. Now off to Walmart late night to get a battery for my remote and soon Ill have keyless entry too!
Dan.
baxterdan is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2011, 07:59 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
glad to hear that's all it was. not sure why they would've done that though. If I recall correctly, you'll need a CR1616 battery for the key fob.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2011, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Burlington ON
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
Yup you are bang on with that battery number! Just got back, installed the battery and the remote works! Didn't even need programing. You are quite the IS expert, thanks for all the help.
Dan.
baxterdan is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-20-2012, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
so all my doors lock but not my drivers side should i check the fuse box as well?
foxhound705 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-20-2012, 07:12 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxhound705 View Post
so all my doors lock but not my drivers side should i check the fuse box as well?
If there's no activity from the master key fob then check the 10A MPX-B and 7.5A Dome fuses in kick panels(this is providing the key starts the car and battery is confirmed good). If it's just one door then try it with the button. It may be an actuator or linkage issue, there's a few tutorials on how to remove the panel and actuator.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2014, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I've got the exact same problem as thread poster, but my 20A ECU-B1 fuse is okey, any ideas?

I also noticed the clock starts on 1.00 every time I turn on the ignition.

this problem happened when I had the AC panel out to change some bulbs...
Morten B is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-13-2014, 05:16 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morten B View Post
I've got the exact same problem as thread poster, but my 20A ECU-B1 fuse is okey, any ideas?

I also noticed the clock starts on 1.00 every time I turn on the ignition.

this problem happened when I had the AC panel out to change some bulbs...
Sounds like you shorted a constant positive out and you have a bad fuse, which is why the clock resets. Make sure to check both kick panels and fuses near the battery for one you may have missed. If not, post back.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-28-2014, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
it was that MPX-B fuse that was blown.
where can I find a map that tells me what fuse i for what?
what does MPX-B stand for? dont understand all those shortened words...

my other cars it says witch is what on the fuse box with words, and in the instruction manual ( have one in Deutsch but I don't speak german, but ether way, cant find a chart in there..
Morten B is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-28-2014, 04:25 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
That fuse means the Multiplex Communication System. T he 10A MPX-B feeds a number of things, mainly the body module and communication system within the car. There is a layout of the fuses, what they feed and what they are for in the diagnostic manual, which is a sticky thread in a few forums.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Orlando
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Dome fuses in passenger fuse box

2001 IS300 E-shift Sun Burnt Orange _K&N Intake _Easten Headers _Greddy Exhuast
NoPantsChance is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Remote doesn't work with car either does dome lights & other interior lights. What can be the problem? Any parts website for parts dealing with steering & transmission ?
Odainee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Lexus IS > Basic Help & Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Door locks do not work, nor does key remote.....Lextech?! *FIXED* tsopranoMB Showroom 34 10-14-2011 04:20 PM
Map light and Dome light on when you open the door? haiimbrian Showroom 28 05-04-2010 08:54 PM
Dealextreme:White LED Cabin/Dome/Door/Glove Box Light turboa Showroom 12 11-07-2008 08:44 AM
Help! Interior map and dome light are not working! dirtyylicous Showroom 6 07-04-2007 10:25 AM
Help! Dome light stays on when door shut dirtyylicous Showroom 14 06-25-2007 04:34 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome