CEL Code Database - Ask Question's Here - Page 8 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #106 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 05:05 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
No, the throttle control motor isn't a sensor, it's what actually moves the butterfly based on the ECU's output. It consists of a motor and clutch assembly all in one unit. Apparently that code means this unit has faulted. You can see the TCM in the pic below. Here's the part number. You may be able to pic one up dirt cheap for used on ebay. Check out ebay vender Justis300parts i believe. Make sure the connector is locked in and the wiring is ok, especially since you've done some work recently.

89672A. 89672-30020
THROTTLE CONTROL MOTOR

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
what about 89452 it moves butterfly as well i was just messing with it the other day and turned it counter clockwise and pushed gas pedal half way down before car revved and turn clock wise and idled at 3k adjusted to just below 1k so its the bigger thing on the left of this?
thekdog is offline  
post #108 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
#89452 is the throttle position sensor which moves with the butterfly and is an input to the ECU. You shouldn't have moved it and it will need to be set right, which is what i would do first. There is a link at the bottom to show how. #89672A is the throttle control motor and you can actually hear it hum when hitting the accelerator pedal with ignition on/car off. There is also another sensor, the accelerator pedal position sensor, which isn't in this pic and is what the throttle cable is hooked up to. It sends an input to the ECU to turn the TCM. All parts have to be set right or otherwise the car goes into limp mode. I would start at the TPS.

See my post in this link.
https://my.is/forums/f90/tps-adjustment-400848/

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
 
post #109 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
will check in a few and see what it reads is it .65-.74 voltage or ohm i think i misread it could just this cause the miss and everything? after i set it right do i unhook negative for 15 min to reset everything?
thekdog is offline  
post #110 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 07:33 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Well it will definitely fault the system, so it's possible. Both the APPS and TPS have to be at the right spot, the APPS is not really adjustable. I would pull the negative for 5 minutes after having the TPS set right and see if the original code comes back. Then we will know for sure.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #111 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
ok ill have to check code tomorrow i dont have a scanner i am ready to sell this car though i know that much ill check back in tomorrow on codes and what not
thekdog is offline  
post #112 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 09:06 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekdog View Post
will check in a few and see what it reads is it .65-.74 voltage or ohm i think i misread it could just this cause the miss and everything? after i set it right do i unhook negative for 15 min to reset everything?
Yes, it's around 0.65-0.70 vdc. You'll need a voltmeter to measure between VTA and ground, as shown in the link. The TPS should be set and never be touched for the most part. Remember to measure with ignition on/car not running. You will need to use a back probe or find a way to pierce the wire because you need to keep everything connected.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #113 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 09:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
well i set the throttle sensor and it wouldnt even idle at .65-.74 idk if it needs to relearn how to idle or something but its worse now and i set it at .73 and now my cel and trac light are flashing also right when i first started it both lights were off
thekdog is offline  
post #114 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 10:05 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Then there most likely still an issue with the throttle control motor, any new scans may show the TCM is faulty. The voltage should be more towards 0.65 vdc, so the TCM may not be doing it's job(as indicated by the previous code). I would keep the TPS's voltage set lower, reset the ECU by battery disconnect, and re-scan to check for any new codes. I'm assuming you are testing VTA(white/red stripe wire) to the brown ground wire. When you reset the ECU, it sets all memory back to stock parameters. If it is still in limp mode, you'll have one or more DTC's. Chances are your TCM code may come back.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #115 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
yeah i reset it and everything and yeah checked on the white with red wire but just put - on - on battery does that matter? my brother seems to think its the fuel pump
thekdog is offline  
post #116 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 10:30 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
The negative shouldn't matter, but it's best to get the ground reading at the sensor because we are dealing with millivolts here, pretty much. It shouldn't change much from using the block as ground. Do you still have a CEL? That's what we're looking for.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #117 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
yep and running worse now
thekdog is offline  
post #118 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 10:43 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
Well, if you still have a code for the TCM, then visually make sure the connection and wiring is ok, then you probably have a faulty TCM. Not common, but very possible. TPS is set back to where it should be and that's not the problem. When i get some time, i'll make this it's own thread since it's getting pretty involved.

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
post #119 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-15-2012, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa KS
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Ok so i did some messing around set the tps to put .70 and just disconnected maf and it runs perfect besides only revs to 3k tried replacing it and still did same stuff im at a lose
thekdog is offline  
post #120 of 181 (permalink) Old 05-15-2012, 08:34 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,540
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
           
With the MAF disconnected, the car will only rev to 3k or so. Is there a reason why you have it disconnected?

'02 IS300 MSM LSD
jasonm4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Lexus IS > Basic Help & Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CEL Code P1121...help cjrubio29 General Discussion 10 03-07-2017 10:59 PM
HELP getting CEL code. chriscrystalIS General Discussion 9 08-11-2009 10:55 PM
CEL Code: P0430 bmwmike Basic Help & Repair 14 04-05-2009 09:32 PM
help with this CEL code ksoazn IS300 Owner's Forum 1 09-12-2007 08:57 AM
Got my cel code! Hirun Go Fast Stuff 30 07-30-2005 05:51 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome