A/c only works for 20 min! HELP it’s hot in Florida - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 06:06 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
A/c only works for 20 min! HELP it’s hot in Florida

Hi! New to the forms this is my second is300 and my 4th Lexus
So having problems with the a/c my cars a/c has been working flawless since I had the car. It was broke down for about a month or 2 and sat outside half the time then in the shop at my work the other half.
Now the a/c only wants to work for like 20 minutes when I first start up every now and then. The pressures when I evac and recharge are -> low side : 60-70 high side 145
I know these are no where near where they are suppose to be but it always works for about 20-30 minutes after recharging.
The other day I checked the presssures on a cold start up and the a/c was blowing cold
I put a pic of the pressure readings
Recently put a new used ecu in (why my car was broke down) and brand new condenser and brand new denso compressor not re man and a pressure sensor / switch from Napa
Any help appretiated thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CB38071F-CDCC-41B9-BE39-8C915FD3F390_1534248179269.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	960.4 KB
ID:	120331  
Lukeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 01:23 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
           
When you recharged it. Did you just add more or did you open the system and let the coolant out. Just looking the low side is high. Depending on if the compressor is running or not.
01 SolarYellow is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Yes I evacuated the system before I recharged it. The picture I added the low side pressure was no where near the 70psi that it was at the other day when I recharged the system
Lukeb is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 02:43 PM
Mr. Roo
 
TobiasSing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Near DC
Posts: 9,099
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
           
So, is it like, it cools and cools and cools until it gets down to the right temperature, and then starts to cycle and doesn't work anymore? That's what mine did, RIP compressor , still doesn't work
TobiasSing is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:09 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeb View Post
Yes I evacuated the system before I recharged it. The picture I added the low side pressure was no where near the 70psi that it was at the other day when I recharged the system
So you vacuumed it down? Or just opened the valve?
01 SolarYellow is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
No it’s a brand new compressor and gets cold within a couple min 60-40 Degrees F
Then all of a sudden after about 20-30 min later the compressor stops clicking on I’m going to take a pressure reading when the a/c stops working and post it up.
Lukeb is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
No it’s a brand new compressor and gets cold within a couple min 60-40 Degrees F Then all of a sudden after about 20-30 min later the compressor stops clicking on I’m going to take a pressure reading when the a/c stops working and post it up.
Lukeb is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TobiasSing View Post
So, is it like, it cools and cools and cools until it gets down to the right temperature, and then starts to cycle and doesn't work anymore? That's what mine did, RIP compressor , still doesn't work
No it’s a brand new compressor and gets cold within a couple min 60-40 Degrees F Then all of a sudden after about 20-30 min later the compressor stops clicking on I’m going to take a pressure reading when the a/c stops working and post it up.
Lukeb is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Readings after a/c stops workin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	95EAD48B-53DF-4FC3-9990-37917073CEA2_1534372294064.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	120351  
Lukeb is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 05:52 AM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeb View Post
Readings after a/c stops workin
Sense you did not say you vacuumed it down. That is your problem. You have air in the system.
01 SolarYellow is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01 SolarYellow View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeb View Post
Readings after a/c stops workin
Sense you did not say you vacuumed it down. That is your problem. You have air in the system.
No I vaccum it down
Lukeb is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 07:18 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeb View Post
No I vaccum it down
Okay, Then I would lower the levels a bit and see if that changes the working time. If it still persists with no change. I would check the controller next.
01 SolarYellow is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01 SolarYellow View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeb View Post
No I vaccum it down
Okay, Then I would lower the levels a bit and see if that changes the working time. If it still persists with no change. I would check the controller next.
Okay thanks I’ll be trying that tomrorow after work
Lukeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Lexus IS > Basic Help & Repair

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C Issues - Blowing Hot Air bigkahuna2187 General Discussion 8 08-20-2017 06:53 PM
A/C Issues - Blowing Hot Air bigkahuna2187 Basic Help & Repair 1 08-13-2017 01:35 PM
A/C Works, but No Heat hidinginthelight General Discussion 0 02-13-2016 01:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome