Link g4 + PNP! - Page 2 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Updates on this!??...
Jcjdm4life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Garage
For automatic control? Not from most ECU manufacturers. You will need to look at getting a manual valve body and shift it manual or look at getting a TCU like a Spitronics, PCS, Compushift etc to control the auto.

Personally I'm using the Spitronics Mercury 2 TCU to control the A343e but it also supports the A650e if you want to keep swapping gearboxes.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wastegate is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:39 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wastegate View Post
Personally I'm using the Spitronics Mercury 2 TCU to control the A343e but it also supports the A650e if you want to keep swapping gearboxes.
are you running the OEM ECU or did you pin the Spitronics to the link ECU?
do you have any info about Dicktator TCU? are they standalone TCUs?
Arzon is offline  
 
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Garage
Hi, OEM ecu is in the bin. Link controls the engine and BEAN network including gauge cluster, climate control. The Spitronics TCU is only controlling the auto.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Arzon likes this.
wastegate is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Here's a quick video I made to shed some light into this!

Also, one thing to mention is that this ECU will NOT control the Auto Trans.
On their site, there is a listing for an 02-05 Auto IS300. That is for those cars that originally came equipped with the AT.

Anyhow, this ECU is the real deal. No more double ECUs, no more piggy backs, and YES to AC!

Knshro is offline  
post #21 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Can i pass inspection with this? I really dont want to have to bribe an inspector for the next 10 years.
Spoonanator is offline  
post #22 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 10:53 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoonanator View Post
Can i pass inspection with this? I really dont want to have to bribe an inspector for the next 10 years.
Not if he hooks up a scan tool to your OBD2 port.
Hodgdon Extreme is offline  
post #23 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Damn, thats exactly what they would do to me.
Spoonanator is offline  
post #24 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 05:18 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Orleans,la - New Caslte,de
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
This ECU kit is not meant to pass emissions tests and does not have emissions rediness protocalls.. From website

https://xcessivemanufacturing.com/to...e10-ecu-s.html

"I know that SOB is cheatin! Cause, I'm cheatin and he beat me"!
blackmenace is offline  
post #25 of 34 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 05:25 PM
Loyalist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marietta
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
           
No standalone does that I am aware of.

Careful & Consistent
01 SolarYellow is offline  
post #26 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 02:11 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
           
I'm bringing my car to Xcessive this weekend and they are going to install and tune my car with the Link G4 unit with Panic Wire. I'll let you guys know how it works. The platform they are working with is a GTE swap Is300 with full 3inch straight pipe exhaust and an intake. Everything else is basically stock wired to the Aristo ECU.
Hodgdon Extreme likes this.

Wanna go faster? Press the gas pedal harder!
DemonIs300 is offline  
post #27 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 02:24 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonIs300 View Post
I'm bringing my car to Xcessive this weekend and they are going to install and tune my car with the Link G4 unit with Panic Wire. I'll let you guys know how it works. The platform they are working with is a GTE swap Is300 with full 3inch straight pipe exhaust and an intake. Everything else is basically stock wired to the Aristo ECU.
Cool and good luck!

Inquire about how the Link Thunder ecu system is coming along, too!
Hodgdon Extreme is offline  
post #28 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 05:00 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Socal
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkaltezza View Post
We're using this setup on my friend's 1jz swapped drift car and it works great. Alot of nice features and very stealth. It comes in the stock ecu casing and fits into the stock ecu box. Has a built in MAP sensor and completely eliminates the stock ecu.

It also works with the stock muliplex system so a/c, fan relays and gauges all work. You can even program each indicator light on your cluster to do whatever you want. For example you can turn your CEL into a shift light if you wanted to.

Great standalone for the price, and has alot of nice features. Only downside is that it only works for manual transmission, so if you have a auto transmission you're out of luck. I'd say this is probably the best standalone for the IS300 just because you can completely eliminate the stock ecu.
care to share some details? I'm thinking the upgraded turbo from driftmotion and this ECU will make for a pretty easy 400hp setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hodgdon Extreme View Post
Cool and good luck!

Inquire about how the Link Thunder ecu system is coming along, too!
Is that another ECU product in the works?
GGM_IS is offline  
post #29 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 12:42 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
 
The setup offered by Xcessive/Panic Wire is based on the Link G4+ "Xtreme" hardware. Link has another G4+ unit called "Thunder", which has some additional features. My understanding is they're working on a Thunder-based kit for the geeks and nerds that want more features.

The Xtreme is very powerful, but its input/output is close to maxed out the way Xcessive/Panic have it configured to work all the peripheral stuff on the IS300. The Thunder adds a bunch of I/O (plenty to run direct spark instead of waste spark) and adds two dedicated WBO2 controllers to the ecu board. The Xtreme requires an external WBO2 controller that sends a 0-5V signal to the ecu itself (consuming one of the analog-in channels).

The Xtreme is plenty for most purposes (plus you can use its canbus to daisy-chain more peripheral can devices), but the Thunder takes it up a solid notch.
GGM_IS likes this.

Last edited by Hodgdon Extreme; 07-04-2019 at 01:50 PM.
Hodgdon Extreme is offline  
post #30 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:54 AM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
           
So I talked to Guy from Xcessive this past weekend when I was there to drop off my car. I was inquiring about the Thunder and they said they are working on a kit for that but for the IS300, it's overkill. Even with the Xtreme, there are still many ports and options left untouched in it for users to configure what they want. This is for a daily driver, not track or anything. If you are doing track and drag where you would need more outputs, the thunder would probably be better. He also said the thunder is better for controlling cars with more cylinders. I get my car back in about 3 weeks and I'll let you guys know more.

Wanna go faster? Press the gas pedal harder!
DemonIs300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










« 2jzgte swap | -

Current users viewing this Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link g4 + PNP ecu! CorollaCannon Go Fast Stuff 2 12-05-2018 07:12 PM
AEM Fic Boomslang PnP Edwinjay Go Faster 3 10-26-2016 10:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome