How to make your IS300 OEM Aristo Powered! - Page 3 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-06-2013, 07:09 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by IS300_2jzgte View Post
I have the 5 speed automatic, I know its weak, but its holding up pretty well, I'm being extra cautious and soft on it.

anyhow, would it be better to get the Aristos ECU? or should I just go with a piggyback?

And which piggyback?
Stock Auto should EASILY hold the power from a stock GTE engine. No problems, provided you perform the VB upgrade and transmission cooler.

ECU is your personal choice, as is the Piggyback. AEM and E-Manage are probably the most popular though. If your car is running just like you want it, don't change the ECU. The only reason I went to Aristo ECU is cuz I just wasn't happy with the way it was running on the stock IS ECU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbovr41991 View Post
Intake and Exhaust Camshaft Seals (903114002) Are you missing a number in this part ID?
I might be....I'll double check.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-15-2013, 02:46 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingzero View Post
Rear Main Seal (1138146010)
Might need to doube check this on too. It looks like this is the seal retainer, not the seal itself. I found out the hard way...... :/

2003 TCM Sport Design IS300 MT LSD with gte vvt-i
turbovr41991 is offline  
post #33 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-16-2013, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
my bad bro, I'll definitely update that.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
 
post #34 of 98 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Question... How much harder would it be to use the W55 instead of the auto?
usptwins is offline  
post #35 of 98 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I don't think it would be that much harder, obviously drive shaft part wouldn't irrelevant. Read up on Auto to Manual swap that's in the Go Faster section. That should give you an idea.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #36 of 98 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Yea, i was, thanks man. Its just what your title said, so i was just wondering if everything would work like your plan was lol
usptwins is offline  
post #37 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: little rock, arkansas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Wait you can run the stock ecu off the is300 ecu?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
jris300 is offline  
post #38 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:17 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
huh? what are you talking about?

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #39 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: little rock, arkansas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
The ecu ...are you running both?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
jris300 is offline  
post #40 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
oh, no only Aristo ECU with NO piggy back. Pure OEM

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #41 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-22-2013, 12:04 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Some good info
konaboi808 is offline  
post #42 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-25-2013, 08:36 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
When running stock twins, does anyone have issues with the heater core lines rubbing on the turbo feed pipe? I have cut back the heater core lines over an inch and had the turbo inlet pipe and compresser housng machined down 5/8 of an inch and it still looks too tight for my liking.

2003 TCM Sport Design IS300 MT LSD with gte vvt-i
turbovr41991 is offline  
post #43 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-26-2013, 07:30 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
You cut the pipe an inch or down to an inch....big difference there. I have had ZERO leak issues on my engine for over 5 years now. The lower hose is a Frankenstein'd line with rubber, aluminum, rubber and aluminum pieces on mine. That's just the way mine turned out, but I'm sure a better solution can be produced.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #44 of 98 (permalink) Old 04-26-2013, 03:28 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingzero View Post
You cut the pipe an inch or down to an inch....big difference there. I have had ZERO leak issues on my engine for over 5 years now. The lower hose is a Frankenstein'd line with rubber, aluminum, rubber and aluminum pieces on mine. That's just the way mine turned out, but I'm sure a better solution can be produced.
They are right around 3/4 to and inch currently from the firewall. The heater core tubes themselves do not rub, but if I attach a hose to it they do. Just afraid the engine vibration will wear through the coolant lines over time. Do you have pictures of your current setup? Thanks.

2003 TCM Sport Design IS300 MT LSD with gte vvt-i
turbovr41991 is offline  
post #45 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 12:18 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Trying to get this straight... The reason why you guys cut the heatercore pipes, is because clearance of stock twins...? Also. Does anyone know the thread pitch size bolt you guys used to put the engine (Aristo motor) on the engine stand? (bellhousing bolts) If you guys still remember... Sorry if it's off topic.
Pho King is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My T88 Powered IS300 Kaiyin Go Faster 32 03-31-2008 09:48 PM
Finished Product Aristo Powered IS300 wingzero Go Faster 18 03-21-2008 10:13 AM
2JZ-GTE VVT-i, Aristo powered SportCross :) bradleyjpyle SportCross Owner's Forum 17 11-21-2007 12:39 PM
Anyone gone from non-powered seats(cloth) to powered? Chan Showroom 26 04-09-2006 03:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome