How to make your IS300 OEM Aristo Powered! - Page 2 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-24-2012, 03:22 PM
Loyalist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
STICKIE, STICKIE, STICKIE.

Thanks for write up.

o3' Graphite Grey Turbo IS300 w/ 6spd swap, ProEFi128, T6765 Billet, stock head
Going to throw a Supra tranny (V160) into your IS? Got questions? Feel free to ask me.
* * *TX2K9 & TX2K10* * *
KR4P11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-24-2012, 04:32 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingzero View Post
The Aristo ECU is running everything. If your manual, I'd expect the same info provided on the forum to convert auto to manual would still apply.

This method is simply to get it working OEM, which yes is Auto.
This would be great for the oem aspect even if small changes were made for the manual crowd.

A decent aristo 2j can be had for the price of a top shelf EMS.

I'm subscribed and intrigued.

FOR SALE 2002 is300 w58
Lextacyis3 is offline  
post #18 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 05:56 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Can Anyone clarify if the manual trans can be used without the auto ecu freaking out? I have a Aristo lined up if this is the case.

I want that oem goodness with a boost controller and a fuel tuner. Trying to stay away from a standalone.


And any word on diagnostics? Will you lose the obd2 functions?

FOR SALE 2002 is300 w58

Last edited by Lextacyis3; 05-30-2012 at 06:32 AM.
Lextacyis3 is offline  
 
post #19 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I'm almost finished with the doc...not much more I need to add to be honest. I'm currently trying to clear up the e-shift mystery I'm having. I can't be certain if I have an A340E or A341E and which is e-shift capable. Looking at the pinouts of the Aristo ECU, the computer is capable of controlling e-shift, so that might have to be an addendum to it one I figure it out and exactly what transmission needs to be used. As of now, I put her in D and she' moves like a bat out of hell so I can't really complain too much.

As for what you lose, that's one of the sections I'm adding but basically, the water temp gauge, traction control, cruise, and yes OBD2 scanning WILL NOT work. I may try to pick up a cheap JOBD scanner and see if that does anything. Also, I'm reading that the paperclip method may work on a JOBD car...I haven't tried it cuz...well I'm not throwing a single CEL

As for the manual part, while I can't be 100% certain, I wouldn't be surprised if the same procedure to convert a USDM Auto to manual would apply to this. The wires needed to modify on the transmission plugs might just be in a different location. My advise would be to find out what wires on the USDM conversion then see if you can pinpoint them on the Aristo harness and do the same thing. Again, this is just an educated guess.

I can tell you I have had ZERO problems with the car. Runs great and I've been driving it daily for the past week with at least 40 mi a day.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #20 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 08:52 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
That seems promising! I live in CT and they require emissions every two years and use the scan port. So that will be a issue if I pull the trigger on this.

Looks like I'll be researching.

FOR SALE 2002 is300 w58
Lextacyis3 is offline  
post #21 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:02 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Oh I don't expect ANY inspection place to be able to read ANY codes or communicate with this ECU.... It's not like you can ask them to scan it a specific way with a specific machine. The scanner I was referring to was more for troubleshooting only.

Your best bet if this is a problem and you don't have "other methods" to get your sticker would be to stick with the IS ECU.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #22 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:52 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Unfortunately it all computer recorded. No pass scan no registration.

Given the wantingness to stay as oem as possible, what would you reccomend? Piggy back or something along the lines of a apexi fuel/timing controller?

I would boost the ge, but it leaves the same issue of running the car. Plus the cost of the kit. I just feel better having a purpose built gte in there. Im already running a w58.

FOR SALE 2002 is300 w58
Lextacyis3 is offline  
post #23 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:53 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Good write up! I may have to make this another PDF if I have time.

Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Quote:
Originally Posted by SophieSleeps
But I think for most people "fine" is usually good enough.
For power hungry people "fine" isn't going to cut it.
TeckniX is offline  
post #24 of 98 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lextacyis3 View Post
Unfortunately it all computer recorded. No pass scan no registration.

Given the wantingness to stay as oem as possible, what would you reccomend? Piggy back or something along the lines of a apexi fuel/timing controller?

I would boost the ge, but it leaves the same issue of running the car. Plus the cost of the kit. I just feel better having a purpose built gte in there. Im already running a w58.
Well if its all computer recorded, your out of luck with the JDM ECU. It WILL NOT talk to their computer....period.

So what I would do if I were you, would be the first way I had mine. GTE, with IS ECU and piggy. If memory serves with the E-Manage, the only CEL I had was for o2 issues, but those are easily defeated. If you are okay boosting the GE, nothing wrong with that...much easier to do and the car will probably feel alot more stock, then do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeckniX View Post
Good write up! I may have to make this another PDF if I have time.
Thanks man, Yea I'm going to convert it from the word doc master once I finish it up. It's almost done. I'll also post a link to the dropbox download when completed.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #25 of 98 (permalink) Old 06-03-2012, 12:47 AM
Loyalist
 
Juic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Juic is offline  
post #26 of 98 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 06:08 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
So your basically using the Aristo's ECU and obviously the aristos engine?

my car has an Aristo engine, but stock IS300 ecu with a SAFCII (its causing alot of problems)

so I want to change the ecu to the Aristo's one...
IS300_2jzgte is offline  
post #27 of 98 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 09:05 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
           
easy fix get a aristo maf 350-400 go to Tweak'd Performance - Services manual 5 speed works perfect with aristo ecu

Last edited by Hotcakes0007; 01-11-2013 at 09:10 PM.
Hotcakes0007 is offline  
post #28 of 98 (permalink) Old 01-12-2013, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I think its proably the SAFC that is causing the problems. You can do this with the IS ECU but your going to need a piggy back or standalone to do it right. SAFC is prolly not gonna work too well.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #29 of 98 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 03:25 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I have the 5 speed automatic, I know its weak, but its holding up pretty well, I'm being extra cautious and soft on it.

anyhow, would it be better to get the Aristos ECU? or should I just go with a piggyback?

And which piggyback?
IS300_2jzgte is offline  
post #30 of 98 (permalink) Old 02-05-2013, 08:21 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Intake and Exhaust Camshaft Seals (903114002) – Are you missing a number in this part ID?

2003 TCM Sport Design IS300 MT LSD with gte vvt-i
turbovr41991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My T88 Powered IS300 Kaiyin Go Faster 32 03-31-2008 09:48 PM
Finished Product Aristo Powered IS300 wingzero Go Faster 18 03-21-2008 10:13 AM
2JZ-GTE VVT-i, Aristo powered SportCross :) bradleyjpyle SportCross Owner's Forum 17 11-21-2007 12:39 PM
Anyone gone from non-powered seats(cloth) to powered? Chan Showroom 26 04-09-2006 03:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome