Aristo 2JZ-GTE VVTi Swap Doc - Page 6 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #76 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-24-2008, 11:41 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Umm, I just look at the ignition coils for both my aristo and my IS, and they are the same. they both have the same number and everything on them.

I thought the gte's came with individual coil packs with no wasted spark?

Why do they look the same? Are the aristos wasted spark also?

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-24-2008, 11:52 PM
Guru
 
TeCKis300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Yup. Makes you wonder y everyone thinks they need more spark for <400hp huh? Those very same wasted spark coilpacks work just dandy with a .44gap.

Car sold to a good new home!

Full Aristo 2JZ-GTE BPU++ - Getrag v161 - EMU - Brembo BBK - CCW Classics 9F/10.5R - 255/35F - 285/30R - AAR Arms - GReddy Type-S - Hotchkis Sways - Teck Kit - Prolex / Cusco STB - Full ICE - HKS Drager - Prosport Prem Boost/EGT/FP - Innovative LC-1/XD-16 - Goodridge SS - TRD F/R Underbrace - Greddy Profec B Spec II - Megan Toe Arms
TeCKis300 is offline  
post #78 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 06:18 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Yeah, identical. I have a set of usdm GTE coil packs that I'll be adapting over from the GE...wired in wasted spark they still make a + diff.

Are you guys oem usdm Supra plugs?

Last edited by mikkellucci; 01-25-2008 at 07:37 AM.
mikkellucci is offline  
 
post #79 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 07:26 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
You may also want to buy a new set of wires for the spark plugs from Toyota. they aren't that expensive like 30 bucks i think and just for piece of mind that they are new.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #80 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 10:09 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Well I guess I will have to add the USDM coilpacks to the list.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #81 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikkellucci View Post
Yeah, identical. I have a set of usdm GTE coil packs that I'll be adapting over from the GE...wired in wasted spark they still make a + diff.

Are you guys oem usdm Supra plugs?
Yes i used Supra plugs, Denso IK20's I believe er 24's

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #82 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 11:16 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
GTE coilpacks are often $200ish on supraforums.. You will need x 3 clips from Toyota as well: 90980-11246.
I havent mounted mine on the GTE head yet but it should be fairly simple. On the GE you have to trim the rubber boots, make a mouting bracket and grind the s* out of the TB for clearance.


Wiring the coilpacks is easy....Wasted spark, obviously one IGN channel will be powering up two coil packs. You just tap and extend a new harness from your stock one for both coil + and coil - wires on the new coilpack. Cylinders are paired #1-6, # 5-2, and #3-4 like all inline6's.

Thanks to TonyTheTiger for sharing the info....
mikkellucci is offline  
post #83 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 02:01 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I guess. Now I am contemplating keeping the twins, but my rear turbo is eff'd and I need a new one. Mike if you dont use yours let me know I might need the rear one, I cant decide if I want to go single or stay twin with the ttc mod. Plus I have no idea how to set up the twins to operate at ttc or wire the vaccume hoses. If I keep them i will have one of the local supra guys or slorice to help me.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #84 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 02:10 PM
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Torrance LA, Camp Patriot Kuwait
Posts: 6,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
           
Yeah, that was cool of Tony to post up real numbers from doing the coil swap. Its also good to know our OE igniter transistors are good for the extra current draw.

Props Tony, and dude I've cried before about wanting to see an OE like turbo setup. Teckis has come in close with the TT swap, but his pipes are shiny, plus his new heat shield. Your intake scheme and still using the engine cover. Damn man, props.

TokenSolutions is moving to an in-house forum and facebook. Google TokenSolutions forumer.
BlackSportD is offline  
post #85 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Well how much power do you want to make? If your looking for big power, ditch the twins now. If you just want 400ish, you can keep them. It is more of a hassle to keep them in there, but it looks SOOOOO damn cool once it's in!!

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #86 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 02:30 PM
Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Torrance LA, Camp Patriot Kuwait
Posts: 6,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
           
^^ IMO a good twin swap, or like how Tonythetiger did his single, would have even a WELL TRAINED cop think its OE unless he's a fellow IS'er haha.

Being here in SoCal, I'm growing away from the bling bling engine bay stuff, and the clean but obviously modified look also, and wanting a "sir, it came from the factory like that" look haha.

TokenSolutions is moving to an in-house forum and facebook. Google TokenSolutions forumer.
BlackSportD is offline  
post #87 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
that's what am going for. Although the 2 shiny IC pipes don't help I want to take her back to Lexus and complain...."uhh yeah there is a loud spooling sound coming from my engine, can you guys take a look at it and tell me what the deal is?" LMAO!!!

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #88 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 03:45 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
400 is good. But I am not sure about the clearance. I know I have to modify a few thing which isnt a problem. Idk , I am torn ha ha.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #89 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 03:54 PM
Guru
 
TeCKis300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Just for you BlacksportD, my engine cover should be almost done this weekend. It's lime green! Finally getting to the little bits and pieces. j/k...it's black

I took the car a couple months ago into Lexus to get my A/C recharged. The techs there were all and converged around the car for quite awhile. I'm sure they all wanted to be the lucky A/C guy and fondle the car.

Car sold to a good new home!

Full Aristo 2JZ-GTE BPU++ - Getrag v161 - EMU - Brembo BBK - CCW Classics 9F/10.5R - 255/35F - 285/30R - AAR Arms - GReddy Type-S - Hotchkis Sways - Teck Kit - Prolex / Cusco STB - Full ICE - HKS Drager - Prosport Prem Boost/EGT/FP - Innovative LC-1/XD-16 - Goodridge SS - TRD F/R Underbrace - Greddy Profec B Spec II - Megan Toe Arms

Last edited by TeCKis300; 01-26-2008 at 07:13 PM.
TeCKis300 is offline  
post #90 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-25-2008, 04:08 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Sweet. I need to get a new cam gear cover, mine came cracked. I email kinway but they need the part number and I cannot seem to find it.

Edit: did you guys keep the pressure tank or w/e on the intake side under the intake manifold? seems useless but i dont want to get rid of it if i keep twins.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aristo 2JZ-GTE VVTi General Information Thread wingzero Go Faster 92 03-09-2011 10:05 PM
2JZ GTE Aristo swap! xtreme_IS300 Go Faster 60 09-14-2010 01:07 PM
what is the average price for a GTE VVTI aristo swap? theclassic32 Go Faster 28 11-25-2009 05:02 PM
GTE Swap | Aristo VVTi or Non-VVTi? sean05 Go Faster 4 09-15-2008 03:22 PM
Aristo 2JZ-GTE VVT-i swap questions bradleyjpyle Go Faster 1 06-23-2008 06:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome