2JZ-GTE Swap Manual - Page 2 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
On the vsv's etc, I am not completely sure of. I put in the manual directly out of peoples builds what they posted and did when then kept their twins. Yes obviously you would need a controller of some sort to increase the boost pressure..

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com
indirocz28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-22-2011, 12:59 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Downloaded. This was very helpful towards my GTE vs LS2 decision.

Edit: Some rep for you for putting all that together.

I <3 my fender roller

Slow as f**k.
Beef Supreme is offline  
post #18 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-22-2011, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Glad to be of help! I am waiting for a member to get done with a manual pedal install into an auto car and i will possibly add that to the manual as well..

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com
indirocz28 is offline  
 
post #19 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-22-2011, 03:47 PM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Thanks for putting it all together - For those that do not have word, I've converted it to a PDF:
IS300 2jz-gte Swap Manual.pdf

Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Quote:
Originally Posted by SophieSleeps
But I think for most people "fine" is usually good enough.
For power hungry people "fine" isn't going to cut it.
TeckniX is offline  
post #20 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-22-2011, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Tecknix- Thanks a lot +rep to you man. I originally tried converting it to PDF, but my internet in Iraq is so unbelievably shitty.. Adding the PDF link to the OP.

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com

Last edited by indirocz28; 06-22-2011 at 10:38 PM.
indirocz28 is offline  
post #21 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-23-2011, 10:40 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kings Mountain/Hickory, NC
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
More power to the guys that have done the swap (especially keeping the twins). Seems like an ass-ton of work.

Team Image Dynamics/Zapco/Second Skin/Werewolf
IASCA/MECA SQ judge and competitor
winslow is offline  
post #22 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-29-2011, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
- I was curious if one of the mods could sticky this so it doesn't get lost in the masses-

If not- well then I guess I'm just a dick for asking and trying to help...

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com
indirocz28 is offline  
post #23 of 67 (permalink) Old 06-30-2011, 01:17 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I'll keep it alive for you.

I <3 my fender roller

Slow as f**k.
Beef Supreme is offline  
post #24 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-01-2011, 12:45 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
thanks you!

02 MSM IS300
ro-lo is offline  
post #25 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-01-2011, 12:54 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
For twins in full TTC mode all you need to do is follow the guide to wiring the gates to "open" position.

Slap a boost controller on the first wastegate off the front turbo and bam, moar boost.

Mine ran about 9psi with the gates wired open. I ran 17psi all day with an AVCR

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #26 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-01-2011, 01:01 PM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
BTW kick ass manual. This is definately something that should be stickied!

I like that you used pics/info from all the swap threads. I feel important now! lol

I want to recognise goldaltezza, japsfinest and teckis300 for leading the pack. I think myself, wingzero and a few others followed right after them. Now theres quite a few swaps. Glad to see people are recognising the potential!

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.

Last edited by IS_BoostByPsi; 07-01-2011 at 01:08 PM.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #27 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
BBPSI- Thanks man, I hope that it gets stickied. I don't know who I can try to talk to but you have a bit more time on the board so maybe you have a little more pull than myself lol..

I didn't even know you posted in here. Never got the notification e-mail..

Hope it is still working good for you all!

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com
indirocz28 is offline  
post #28 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 11:28 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Awesome help, plan on beginning mine over the winter this year. Hope all is ready.

BTW is there a wiring harness for sale in the market that is already converted for the is300? for this swap?
OptimusIS is offline  
post #29 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 11:45 PM
Guru
 
TeCKis300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Brad View Post
i feel like im overlooking something big time. i cant seem to comprehend how the wastegate on the first turbo controls spool for both turbos. everything ive read says it basically allows exhaust to reach the 2nd turbo to spool. BUT you can plainly look at the manifolds and see the 4,5, and 6th exhaust power flow directly into the 2nd turbo...
IIRC - The manifold has a bridge that connects both banks. Allowing the exhaust energy from 4,5,6 to be routed to the front turbo, and through its wastegate. You'll notice that it's not the natural path for the exhaust energy to flow, which is why it takes some backpressure to cause that flow to go through the front wastegate. JDM turbo's are much more likely to overboost than the USDM twins without backpressure.

And got rid of all the stock VSVs.

My car's still running great as a daily driver at 16 psi of boost. And still brings a smile to my face everday.

Car sold to a good new home!

Full Aristo 2JZ-GTE BPU++ - Getrag v161 - EMU - Brembo BBK - CCW Classics 9F/10.5R - 255/35F - 285/30R - AAR Arms - GReddy Type-S - Hotchkis Sways - Teck Kit - Prolex / Cusco STB - Full ICE - HKS Drager - Prosport Prem Boost/EGT/FP - Innovative LC-1/XD-16 - Goodridge SS - TRD F/R Underbrace - Greddy Profec B Spec II - Megan Toe Arms
TeCKis300 is offline  
post #30 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-14-2011, 02:25 AM Thread Starter
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cape Coral FL, Ft. Hood, Tx, BFE Iraq
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by OptimusIS View Post
Awesome help, plan on beginning mine over the winter this year. Hope all is ready.

BTW is there a wiring harness for sale in the market that is already converted for the is300? for this swap?

OptimusIS- You simply use your stock IS300 wiring harness. If swapping in an Aristo you will not use all the connections on the engine, but will use all the connections on the wiring harness. The only things that MAY need to be modified would be the IS300 fuel injector plugs on the wiring harness to put in different injectors.

Also if you do the R154 Conversion and need a speed sensor Marlin Crawler makes a piece that screws onto the stock R154 mechanical sensor on the trans converts the signal to electric and plugs into the stock wiring harness!

Jeff

Doing a 2JZ-GTE swap into an IS300? Click here for the Swap Manual: https://my.is/forums/f114/2jz-gte-swa...rd-doc-431423/
-To be fair to everyone- This is the internet, and we are all different sources, so each source will probably have different answers, and I do know that there are some people out there who are complete idiots....

www.undergroundstreetcar.com
indirocz28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gte swap two ecu's and manual swap Vladisme Go Faster 4 06-04-2008 09:06 AM
Manual Swap shroominguy IS350 Owner's Forum 4 06-24-2006 08:50 AM
Manual Swap impossiblesrock General Discussion 7 06-20-2006 07:27 PM
eshift to manual swap glassdanse North-East 3 02-14-2005 09:51 PM
Manual Swap SlvrSportCrossforme SportCross Owner's Forum 11 10-19-2003 09:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome